Ruby Skye PI Interview with Scott Beaudin (Edmund O’Fyne)

Edmund rocks itI recently had the privilege to talk to Ruby Skye P.I.’s Scott Beaudin who plays Edmund, Ruby’s mischievous and somewhat crazy friend. Thanks Scott Beaudin for squeezing me in to your no doubt busy schedule.

Calgary Kid Critic: What is it like kissing someone while being filmed?

Scott Beaudin: It’s actually not a very big deal at all. It’s choreography, just like a dance move or like any other movement that you do, you just try be professional about the whole thing and it’s totally fine. Madison Cheeatow (Ruby Skye) was also really professional about the whole thing and we’re able to to do it, and it’s not that it was gross or anything it’s just we try to treat it as if it’s no big deal.

CKC: How did you learn about Ruby Skye P.I.?

SB: I got a call telling me about auditions for it and and this was back in 2012 so I went and auditioned for Kelly Harms, the director, and they liked me and I had long hair at the time and they liked my long hair and I did a good enough job at the audition that they asked me to play Edmund.

CKC: How did you get started as an actor?

When I was 8 years old I did a theatre program and at the end of that the director of that suggested to my parents that I get started in the business. They were a little tentative at first but my parents have been really, really, really supportive of me and and they drove me from Hamilton to Toronto all the time for auditions and I slowly fell in love with it as I got older and now it’s really the only thing I’m good at anymore.

CKC: What is it like being a part of the whole Ruby Skye P.I. project?

SB: It’s a blast! Kelly Harms the director and Jill Golick and Julie the writers and creators are just terrific. The cast is great. Madison Cheeatow and Marlee Maslove (Hailey Skye) are amazing and really just feels like a family especially when we came back to do season three. It was really just a really warm set and everyone’s so nice and it was also a lot of fun to spend a lot of time with all the puppies, getting to film and play with all the puppies between takes was a lot of fun.

CKC: Is there any particular character on Ruby Skye P.I. that you would like to play other than Edmund?

SB: I would love to play Colin Cumberbund but I know that there is no way that I would be as funny as Sean Cullen, because he is brilliant. He is so funny he made us laugh all the time; in between takes and at lunch and any time we weren’t filming and even when we were. It just took us  several tries to do [a scene] without laughing because Sean can just make things up on the spot very easily and he was making us laugh all the time.Ch3EdmundStare

CKC: Did I by any chance see you on a McDonalds commercial?

SB: Good eye! I was! For the Dollar Drinks.

CKC: What are the differences between being a part of a commercial as opposed to a web series/TV series?

SB: I guess a commercial is very quick, you don’t get to know people as well, whereas on a web series you get more of a character that you get to play with and you get to grow in that character and find interesting moments that way and you get to work with a cast and a crew over an extended  period of time which is really enjoyable. Commercials tend to be a little impersonal at times, but I think they can still be very fun as well.

CKC: Now that Ruby Skye P.I. is on TV, what are the differences between filming for an audience on the internet as opposed to filming for an audience on TV?

SB: When we were just shooting for Ruby Skye P.I.com we really only had to answer to ourselves  and when you’re filming for TV you’re working with a whole bunch of new people. So now we’re working with all the folks over at CBC and we’re very fortunate that they’re amazing and we get along great and they share ideas with us and we share ideas with them.  We come together and you  add more people to the mix when you’re shooting for TV and so you get much more people on the project that want to make it great.

CKC: Edmund is a pretty normal character as opposed to Reeny Mussolini or Mrs. Googe, how can you relate to Edmund?

SB: Edmund is mischievous, he likes to have fun. I think I’m the same way. Edmund cares a lot about his friends, he really cares about Zoffi, and obviously Ruby. I am really close with all my friends and I think that’s where we’re alike. But I think Edmund’s very clever, I think he’s more clever than I am in real life.

CKC: Do you plan on continuing acting as a professional career?

Oh I do! I hope to do it for many more years!

CKC: Why?

SB: I really love to do theatre and I really love the energy that you get from fellow actors and from an audience that way and I love watching movies and it’s a lot of fun making them as well.Ch 1 Edmund Bye

CKC: Do you have any role models or heroes?

SB: I guess my parents are really big role models for me. I look up to them a lot growing up. In terms of my acting heroes, I really like Philip Seymour Hoffman and I really like Sean Penn. I also really like Heath Ledger as well  and those are just some professional actors that I look up to.

CKC: Are you going to be in anything new in the near future?

SB: I’m going to be in an episode of Murdoch Mysteries which is on CBC, I’ll be playing Thomas Edison Jr. on that, and I’ll be on an episode of Saving Hope as well.

CKC: Do you know if their is going to be a season four of Ruby Skye P.I.?

SB: I don’t know! I actually can’t tell you. I hope that CBC is optimistic enough to give us another season because I think it would be a lot of fun and I think Ruby has a lot of fans that want another season.

Thanks so much Scott Beaudin for  answering my questions and I hope I get to talk to you again in the future.  

Leave a Reply

